30 days – check

Today is day 30! HOORAY I’M DONE – wait… what? We decided to do a #whole45 instead?! Gah. Fine. Another 15 days it is.

That’s how I felt when I woke up today. All PUMPED because it was my last day of the #whole30… and then I remembered. Oh well – it’s fine. I’ll live. Another 15 days won’t kill me. Hopefully.

This round has been a little bit different for me – I don’t feel the Sugar Demon creeping up on me at all hours of the day, food prep is EASY, and I started sleeping well probably on the third day (maybe that was the Nyquil talking… but either way – zonked out like a baby.) I’ve eaten LOTS of red meat and LOTS of breakfast for other meals besides breakfast. I’m learning that I (almost) like black coffee more than I like coffee with creamer in it. Unless of course it’s Sweet Italian Cream CoffeeMate… then we have an obvious winner. Also – I don’t miss cheese like I did the last go-around. Maybe it’s because my dairy ingestion has dropped SIGNIFICANTLY since last year when we started – meaning I haven’t bought cow’s milk in over a year, not that I’ve ever been a real big milk drinker, but still. Of course I still ate plenty of cheese, but I’m not missing that as much as I had before. Pasta and bread are something I do still miss, and I probably always will. I don’t feel like I’ve overindulged on eggs this time (hooray!) because I’ve eaten them so many different ways that I forget I ate eggs in a breakfast casserole that morning, and some eggs over-easy smashed into hashbrowns for dinner. We’ve tried lots of different recipes, and eaten a lot more gamey meat this round – veal, lamb, etc. I made my own breakfast sausage (not the best, not the worst) and I finally caved and made my own mayo. WHICH WAS A LIFE SAVER. Why haven’t I done that before? It’s so EASY. An egg, EVOO, S&P, lemon juice, garlic. Immersion blender that shit together and BAM – mayo. (Do I sound like Emeril there? I should – we just got his pots and pans and I LOVE THEM.)

Non-scale victories… let’s see. The obvious sleep improvement – even when I only sleep for 6 hours, I feel so refreshed when I wake up it’s amazing. I have energy to work out, I feel great during and after my work out, I feel focused during the day and not “fuzzy” or sleepy, my pants fit better, my workout spandex fits better, my face feels less bloated, I feel like I’m (usually) in a good mood (except for the few times I get hangry… sorry about that babe) and I just feel overly GREAT.

So… now what? Where do I go from here? After these next 15 days, do I go back to my shitty eating from before? Do I keep cutting dairy out but go back to pasta? Do I stick with wine or vodka and steer clear of beer? What happens next?

Honestly – I don’t know yet. The last two years I tell myself that I WILL stick to it and I WILL do the gradual reintroduction of foods back into my diet. And the last two years, I’ve probably had pizza the very next day. But guys – how do you say NO to pizza? It’s so damn good. The main reason I DON’T want to go back to pizza and beer that first day, is I know how shitty I’ll feel when I’m done. And especially the next day as it’s making its way through my body trying to kill me. Ideally, I’d like to slowly reintroduce the current non-whole30 foods back into my system, and see how it makes me feel once they’re back in there. See how some rice, pasta and quinoa sits in my system after a few days. If that’s all good, keep my portions small and occasional and I’ll be fine. The same goes with dairy, legumes, alcohol (that will probably be less gradual but who knows), and sugar. The sugar is the one that will mess with me the most. Because I am a candy monster, through and through. All kinds of candy – I’m not picky. Chocolate, gummy, straight sugar – you name it, I will eat it. And I will eat it quickly, without thinking, until my teeth hurt. Because I am a child and have ZERO self-control. Guys – I am 29 years old. And I cannot control myself with candy when it’s in front of my face. This is something a first grader has issues with during Halloween or someone’s birthday party. Yet here I am – the year I turn 30, and I still have issues with sweets. Embarrassing. SO. That being said, I feel like I need to kick out candy unless it’s for special occasions. Like baked goods, Starbursts, KitKats, jelly beans (damn you Easter Bunny and your delicious jelly beans that are ONLY around during Easter!), Swedish Fish, cupcakes (my sister is the WORST for stopping by with “some cupcakes for you” – aka probably 6 dozen cupcakes), cookies, Caramel Macchiatos (this one will be occasional – because who doesn’t love a Venti Skinny Iced Caramel Macchiato on a hot day?! Or even a cold day really…), and – although these aren’t sweets, CHIPS. LOVE me some chips – literally any kind. If they are in my house, I will sit and eat them until they’re gone. And I’m not picky. Doritos, Jalapeno Kettle Chips, Cheese its, etc. etc. GONE in no time. Ridiculous really. Tell me again how I’m a grown-up? Sigh.

Okay – now that I’ve verbal diarrhea-d all over the place about things I really WANT to eat but can’t… I need to go finish eating my breakfast – an egg bake with spinach, asparagus, and whole30 approved Italian sausage. Sigh. This green juice sure doesn’t taste like the sugary treat I really want. Guess I’ll just slather some cashew butter on my banana and deal with it. PS have you ever tried cashew butter? It’s seriously AMAZING. And almost better than almond butter. Or peanut butter. Almost.

Leave a Reply

