make your bed, clean your toilet, tell people your health goals.

Guys – MSN has been ON POINT today with my 2015 resolutions. First, tips for how to lose weight (get in shape) and to follow – good housekeeping habits to adopt in the new year. All totally doable. And now – being added to my action plan. Tackle one room each day – easy. Clean the toilet weekly – I can handle that. Make your bed every day – I’ll do my very best. Eat with intention – you got it. Tell people about your goals – IT’S ALREADY HAPPENING. That’s a nice way to start the day… learning that you’re already doing something to make you a better YOU.

A couple weeks ago I met with a friend for our yearly “let’s be better” chats at our place (Starbucks) and proceeded to go through our goals for the year (this meeting was focused on money.) Although we veered off track often occasionally, we still got a lot accomplished over the three hours we spent at our table discussing money saving tips, goals, and general hatred of money. Budgets were a main topic – how to make them, keep them, and continue to follow them. That’s going to be hard for me considering I’m not (and have never been) particularly good with money. But this is my year you guys. I WILL learn to budget and stop being stressed about it ALL the time.

A main focus for my money and budget was food. I love me some food you guys and I go to the store OFTEN. I don’t meal plan – I just buy whatever looks good and if I eat it, great. But more often than not, I end up throwing stuff away because I either a) go to the store hungry, or b) wander up and down the aisles WITHOUT a list. That is changing this year.

Come February 2nd, I will be participating in the #whole30 again. I’ve recruited my roomie in this expenditure and we have dubbed Sundays as “meal prep” day beginning Super Bowl Sunday. As we indulge in our last hurrah of cheese and beer and pizza, we will also be getting food ready to go for our week. Between now and then I have started cleaning out the fridge and finishing off everything that we cannot eat during these 30 days. Cheese, pasta, milk (really anything dairy), coffee creamer, white potatoes (although I’ve heard there’s been an amendment to this section – white potatoes in MODERATION), bread, sugar, peanut butter (sad day), and booze. My cupboards look SO BARE and I still have a couple weeks to go. But I did it last year – I’ll do it again this year. And to make this year a little different from last year, the roommate and I will be taking measurements (waist, thighs, arms, weight) and before pictures. Can’t wait to see those awful numbers. One of the rules of #whole30 is you CANNOT step on the scale or take any measurements during this time. Why? Because you’re focusing on how you FEEL and now how you LOOK. I know for a fact that I will sleep better, have more energy, will lose some bloat, and my face will brighten up. I know those will ALL happen – as they’ve happened before, but this time since I’m actually doing my measurements, I’ll be interested to see what that does too. My goal is to not throw myself back into eating normal when I get done with these 30 days – I’m going to follow the rules of easing back into it. I can do this.

“It is not hard. Don’t you dare tell us this is hard. Beating cancer is hard. Birthing a baby is hard. Losing a parent is hard. Drinking your coffee black. Is. Not. Hard. You’ve done harder things than this, and you have no excuse not to complete the program as written. It’s only thirty days, and it’s for the most important health cause on earth – the only physical body you will ever have in this lifetime.”

www.whole30.com “It Starts With Food” by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig

Other health goals for the upcoming year:

  • Bring lunch to work as much as possible
  • Start the day with 32 oz of water
  • One morning workout a week
  • NEVER skip a Monday workout
  • Eat breakfast every day
  • Fruit and/or veggies with every meal
  • Switch up the workouts – run, lift, yoga, HIIT
  • Hold a 5 minute plank
  • Run four races

That’s enough for now. I can always add on or take off depending on how the year is going. You can never work TOO hard on bettering your health and yourself. That’s my plan anyway.

Leave a Reply

